Another Day, Another House

Derek came through. He is a distressed property expert. Not sure who really certifies that, but he explains the process well and the problems. This is most of his business – short sales. He will not take foreclosure listings from banks. The banks look for the cheapest player on those and generally get newbies or agents with not much business.
So we viewed the house. Floor plan is pretty much like the one I put an offer on, but about 200 sq ft smaller, which is made up for by the finished basement. I can live with less space as long as there are walls to put pictures and furniture.
It is a short sale. Here is the problem: they take time to process. Mortgage held by Bank of America, reputed to process these very slowly like 3-4 months. Derek says we put a time frame on agreement, if we can get sneak it past the listing agent, for a reply in 45 days. Then I take my deposit and am done to look.
Then I’m left with 30 days on the apartment lease and need to find a home. Really don’t want to have to extend the lease any. Would prefer to find a house into which I can move the storage units stuff and start working on. Can also move in the pets and reduce the extra $50 monthly paid for pets.
Derek also has a property he is getting ready to list that he wants me to see. Tells me it is perfect for me. Trying to get the owners to move on readying the house.
Of course the other home has had several viewings, and one realtor has said he will present offer, but nothing happened.
Pressure! Don’t want to lose another – it’s too damned depressing.

Leave a comment